Back to previous

Atwood House Museum/ Chatham Historical Society

  • Details

    The Chatham Historical Society was organized in 1923. Three years later, the society acquired the Atwood House – a gambrel-roofed house built in the 1750's. Except for the addition of essential electricity, the old Atwood House is unchanged from when it was built and is furnished throughout as it was during the 18th and 19th centuries.

    Over the years, museum galleries have been added to the original structure without affecting its integrity. As a result of the major expansion and renovation to the museum completed in 2005, there are now eight galleries with permanent exhibits, plus a large special exhibit gallery that doubles as a meeting room seating up to 80 people.

    On the grounds are the mid-20th century Nickerson North Beach Camp, the Chatham School Bells display, and the Chatham Light Display, featuring the lantern house from Chatham’s twin light with its original Fresnel lens, which flashes its beam whenever the museum is open.

    The reception room of the museum houses a unique gift shop featuring tasteful gifts, books, and fashion accessories that relate to our collections. It is not necessary to pay admission to visit the shop.

    The museum is open from May through October. Please check our website at www.chathamhistoricalsociety.org for information regarding times and special events throughout the year. 

    Admission fee is $10 for adults, $5 for students, and free to members and children under 7. For more information, call (508) 945-2493 or contact us at [email protected].  

  • Map