Back to previous

Toward the Sea

August 23, 2020
  • Details
    • Dates: August 23, 2020
    • Location: Cape Cod Chamber Orchestra
    • Time: 3:00 PM to 5:00 PM
    • Price: $30 online, $35 at the door$40 reserved seats available online onlyChildren & Students FREE

    2:15 PM Pre-Concert Talk with composer Cody Forrest and Music Director Matthew Scinto

    Season Two concludes with a special commemorative work for the 400th anniversary of the Mayflower's journey by composer-in-residence Cody Forrest.

    EJ Mills Brennan, Mashpee Wampanoag musician, painter, and artisan joins us to share her original music “Breath of Prayers”.

    Toru Takemitsu's Toward the Sea (1981) for alto flute, harp, and strings was commissioned by Green Peace for the "Save the Whales" campaign, and features a movement dedicated to Cape Cod. The CCCO concludes this stormy journey with Mozart’s Symphony No. 40 in G minor.

    Join us as we take a contemporary look at the Pilgrim's journey to America.


    EJ MILLS BRENNAN Breath of Prayers 

    TAKEMITSU Toward the Sea 

    CODY FORREST They Were Pilgrims

    MOZART Symphony No. 40 in G minor

  • Map