Back to previous

Spring Is Here 2024

March 3, 2024
  • Details

    Join the Cape Cod String Quartet for an unforgettable experience at their "Spring Is Here” Concert Series, where the spotlight will be on Max Richter's groundbreaking work, "Spring 1 Recomposed." Richter's unique approach to Vivaldi's timeless "The Four Seasons" goes beyond mere transcription and rearrangement. In his own words, he absorbed Vivaldi's original work "into his own musical bloodstream.”


    In addition to Richter's innovative composition, the Cape Cod String Quartet will present a diverse selection of pieces, including Mozart's "Dissonance" quartet. This quartet opens with an introduction that foreshadows the mystery and romantic pathos reminiscent of late Beethoven. At times, it even flirts with the twentieth-century atonality characteristic of Arnold Schoenberg.


    Continuing the program, George Walker's "Lyric for Strings” will be featured. Composed when Walker was only 24 years old, the piece's sound, structure, and instrumentation are clearly inspired by the famous Adagio for Strings composed by Walker’s Curtis Institute classmate Samuel Barber in 1936. 

  • Map
  • Listing

    Cape Cod Museum of Art

    60 Hope Lane, Dennis, MA 02638