Cape Cod Town Guides: Upper Cape, Mid Cape, Lower Cape and Outer Cape Cod Town Information

Bass Hole Boardwalk

Click here to take a narrated video tour of Cape Cod!

Cape Cod, Massachusetts is divided up into four sections commonly referred to as: Upper Cape, Mid Cape, Lower Cape and Outer Cape.

Cape Cod’s 15 towns are not unlike siblings: metaphorical brothers and sisters, sharing some qualities, yet remaining refreshingly different.

Bourne is the youngest, Sandwich the oldest. Mashpee is the fastest growing and endowed with exceptional freshwater fishing. Falmouth is the traditionalist of the family; its village of Woods Hole, home of the famed Oceanographic Institute, the brains.

Barnstable is the Cape’s largest town, its second oldest, and the county seat. Of Barnstable’s seven villages, Hyannis is the commercial and transportation hub. Its other villages run the gamut from quaint seaside villages to bucolic spots reminiscent of horse-and-buggy days. Yarmouthport bespeaks quintessential New England reserve, while South Yarmouth offers a boisterous array of family fun. Dennis's northside villages are quiet; its villages along Nantucket Sound are exuberant with summer fun.

Brewster reflects the glory days of seafaring. One of Harwich's villages exudes seaside charm, while the other exhibits Yankee detachment. Chatham is the stylish one, and Orleans is subtle and low-key.

While Eastham is bereft of a town center, it is endowed with stunning dune-backed beaches. Wellfleet is the artsy one, lined with art galleries and home to a fine actor’s theater.  Truro lives in its own quiet world of moors, rolling hills and ocean bluffs.  Provincetown is the prodigal son, the Bohemian, the unconventional sibling who welcomes everyone with an open heart.